top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCatlyn

DIY Slat Headboard

In my bedroom and the nursery we installed feature walls so when designing the guest room I wanted a statement but something different.


So when I stumbled across @houseofhanesinteriors post link here, I knew I wanted to turn that idea into a headboard. The walls in the guest room are white so I knew I wanted more contrast and would need to stain the boards. Knowing this I was able to use a much cheaper board than if you were to leave it natural. All together the headboard cost about $60 and took about an hour to install.

Materials Used:


26 1x2 furring strips ($28.32 total)

11 1x3 furring strips ($18.48 total)

1 1x6 board $5.47

Minwax gel stain in black

Sponge for stain

Orbital hand sander

220 grit sand paper


I checked the furring strips and chose boards that were somewhat straight, these boar


ds are not perfect which is why they are cheap. Once I took them home I picked the side I liked best and sanded it using 220 grit with an orbital hand sander. I made sure to sand three sides of the


board, the front, top, and bottom. I repeated this step on all 26 boards. You can skip the sanding by using a high quality board like a premium pine or poplar, but this will cost more money. A 1x2 furring strip is $1.18, the same board in pine is $5.56 and in poplar $8.16.


Once all the boards were sanded I laid them out to stain. I love the Minwax gel stain, it goes on so easy and dries to a satin finish. I use a stain sponge, simply dip it in the stain can and wipe it on the boards. I applied two coats of stain and once they dried we were ready to cut. The b


ed in the guest room is a queen which is 60 inches so I cut all the boards to 72 inches which would give me a 6 inch over hang on each side.


I measured center on the wall and found my studs. It worked out perfectly spacing wise and I was able to place my two vertical boards about a foot in on each side. The vertical boards are screwed into the studs for support. Once the vertical boards were in place I was able to start nailing in the horizontal boards. I started at the top which is a 1x6. Be sure the use a level on the bottom of the board as most ceilings aren't perfect. Then using the thin side of the 1x2 as a spacer I continued down two 1x2 boards then a 1x3 and repeat all the way down. The horizontal boards were secured using a nail gun.


The inexpensive DIY makes a BIG statement! If you do this project yourself tag me @treadsways in your posts! Or if you don't want to take on the project, hire me and I will come do it for you!




132 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page